More of a thought than an outright request. When a bundled skin is newer than an installed version, would asking if you wanted the latter deleted be a help or hindrance?
Users can tell, if they look at the skin name, in the skin selector, which they are loading. But if they miss that clue, they might go to edit the wrong version. And, if they have already made custom edits, it could serve as a reminder that they need to make a new version with their changes.
Any opinions anyone?
Edited by: RobM on 2 Nov 2021, 14:06
I was thinking of this as a run once when a JAlbum install is first started, not something that constantly checks skin versions.
That would be a nice feature. After installing a new jAlbum version, I actually delete the installed skins manually (the ones that are also bundled), to avoid that kind of problem. Usually not necessary, but....
I have an action attached to my download folder, when I download a jaskin file it is installed and then deleted. I could modify that script to delete bundled skins, but I was curious to see if others would like such a feature. Thanks for the plus vote.
Sounds good. Basically, some warning, alert that newer downloaded skin will silently and completely overwrite old skin?
The idea was to ask the user if they wanted the old skins deleting, if yes all old bundled skins in the users skins folder get deleted. If the user declines, then none get deleted - they may have custom code that they need to include in the new version, so it acts as just a reminder.
What if you wanted to keep the old skin AND still download the newer version?
The action would only occur when a new version of jAlbum is installed and run, newer versions of any skin get installed by the user. Anyone with custom code should be on the ball, have backups and generally know what they are doing