This question is not answered. Helpful answers available: 0. Correct answers available: 1.

Permlink Replies: 13 - Pages: 1 - Last Post: 11 Mar 19, 11:50 Last Post By: JeffTucker
Testshoot

Newbie needs help with album structure
Posted: 7 Mar 19, 23:35

Click to reply to this thread Reply
I attempted to find my answer and found references to sections and neighbors, etc. which I couldn't find in my dashboard. Let me just ask if jAlbum and/or Tiger can do what I am looking for. I am an event photographer I want a home page that displays categories, preferably with a thumbnail and category names like Civic, Ceremonies, Parties, etc. Then under the category, like Civic, it might have a City name. Then under that city would be event 1, event2, etc. Categories and sub categories could be alpha sort, as could the final albums.

It might also be nice to have the thumbs for all the categories, but maybe one row of thumbs showing latest additions.

I have hundreds of albums and hundreds of thousands of images.

I have my own server. I just downloaded jAlbum last night and put my first gallery up, and that was pretty easy, although I would want to tweak the album more later. I was a former Gallery user, went to a couple cloud sites, just tried another program and found it too limiting not to mention a bunch of problems, so then I ended up here.

Lew
Newbie in Progress
JeffTucker

Re: Newbie needs help with album structure
Posted: 8 Mar 19, 00:33   in response to: Testshoot in response to: Testshoot

An interesting problem. jAlbum, unlike a lot of other "web photo album" generators, is not a server-side, database-driven system, so the way you set things up initially can make a huge difference.

The typical scheme is to have one big album project with folders (each of your categories), subfolders (your city names), and sub-subfolders (your events).