It's only deleting the copy of the images that are within the album project. It's not deleting your original images, which are probably in another place, like a Pictures folder.
To repeat, you do not have an "album of albums." All you're doing is deleting one folder from the album project. That folder is not a separate album - it doesn't exist as an independent album project anywhere.