Permlink Replies: 23 - Pages: 2 [ 1 2 | Next ] - Last Post: 13 Aug 17, 15:24 Last Post By: MarkusD Threads: [ Previous | Next ]
MarkusD

HTML-capable editor for the comment field
Posted: 12 Aug 17, 17:23
  Click to reply to this thread Reply
Hi,

over the years I wrote more and more detailed comments to not necessarily the pictures but to the folders. And I use more and more HTML-code. Because I have no knowledge in HTML at all I do the coding in Notepad++ and if it looks ok I copy&paste the code into the comment field in JA, see attached screen shots.

When I alter some of the skin files I realized that there is a built-in HTML editor in JA.

I'm wondering if it is possible to use that component also for the comment field in JA? TIA, Markus
JeffTucker

Re: HTML-capable editor for the comment field
Posted: 12 Aug 17, 17:50   in response to: MarkusD in response to: MarkusD
This has come up a few times in the past, without a real resolution, but I'm having trouble finding the threads. Here's one:

http://jalbum.net/forum/thread.jspa?threadID=51493

Now it comes back to me - David took a run at doing this for jAlbum 13.4, and there was a long discussion about it in the Admin Corner of the forums. Lots of problems, including obsolete HTML (with things like <font> tags), and the problem of collisions with skins (HTML in comment specifies font size, skin specifies font size for comments). It got put on the back burner, and left to simmer.

(Anyone with moderator access, look in the Admin Corner, last post in the thread was 26-Nov-2016).
MarkusD

Posted: 12 Aug 17, 18:55   in response to: JeffTucker in response to: JeffTucker
I assume that I couldn't make clear what I'm looking for. I don't want a WYSIWYG editor for the comment field, just a editor which is able to show the code like the "jAlbum Textpad" (using the text editor engine RSyntaxTextArea), see screen shot. I don't know how you call that, syntax highlighting maybe.
mrag