jAlbum / Settings / General

GeneralSettings.png

General settings are all about your current project, what it is called, what it is about, where its files are stored and where your album will be created.

Album title

When you create a project the album title defaults to the name of the image directory. You can change the displayed name by entering an alternative text here.

Album tags

AlbumTags.png

Comma separated list of keywords that can, for example, appear as metadata tags in your album pages. Commonly used keywords, such as Landscape, Portrait, January, July, Flowers will pop up as you begin to type. See figure to the left. Press enter to accept a single word or click on a word from those suggested to enter that word. If your word is not listed just keep typing.

Album Description

Descriptive text for the whole album. If you do not want a description it is safest to enter a single space character, this will result in an empty description on the profile page and ensure, if used, the 'About' widgett gets updated.

Album thumbnail

Representing thumbnail for your album. To select a different image, use the small black triangles to navigate through your album or right click a thumbnail in jAlbum's Explore view and select "Use as folder thumbnail". The album thumbnail will also be used as theme image if you use the Turtle skin.

Change directory locations

This is a safety feature to stop you from inadvertently changing the location of your project files, the Image and Output directories. To change either, you must first check this selection box. Note: This is a default setting. The state checked or not checked applies to all your projects and will be kept even when jAlbum is quit and reopened.

Image directory

This is the location of your image files, page templates and other files and folders that will be used to generate your album. It is also the default location for the project settings file, jalbum-settings.jap, and several other files created and used by jAlbum. The path to the directory is displayed and can be changed by either, typing directly in to the path field or by clicking on the folder icon to the right and then navigating to your image directory.

Output directory

This is the location of your generated album. The default is a subfolder, called 'album', of the image directory, but can be anywhere you like. The path to the directory, either relative to the image directory (e.g, album) or absolute (e.g. /Users/user name/Sites/My Site/My Album), is displayed and can be changed by either typing directly in to the path field or by clicking on the folder icon to the right and then navigating to your output directory.

For relative paths like 'album' the path to the folder is shown 'greyed out' with the actual folder name 'highlighted'

Address

This field will be left blank until after an 'upload' has been performed, it will then show the URL path to your web hosted album. Some skins may need to know the URL before being uploaded, for example those supporting social sharing functions. To avoid having to do a 'Make - Upload - Make - Upload' you can manually enter the URL path. The path expected will be your root web address plus the project name e.g. http://myjalbum.jalbum.net/myProject. If you enter an alternative path you will need to change the suggested upload folder to match what you have entered, otherwise the URL will be wrong.

You may need to refer to the skin manual to ensure it does not specify an alternative method of entering the published URL path.

If the path is wrong, your "web root" might be wrong. See Mark as web root.

Collaborative Albums - New in jAlbum 13!

See Collaborative albums.

Apply

When in preview mode, with the integrated browser activated, this applies changed settings and then updates the browser so you can see the changes. The settings widow is left open, so you can quickly undo, or make further, changes.

OK

This saves the changes and closes the settings window and, if the integrated browser is open, will update the album with the changes. Note, there is no cancel option, closing the settings window without clicking apply or OK will still retain any changes made. If you want to revert to the original settings, close the project without saving the changes.