This question is not answered. Helpful answers available: 2. Correct answers available: 1.

Permlink Replies: 7 - Pages: 1 - Last Post: 22-Sep-2017 10:29 Last Post By: RobM
rchorne

Thumbnail URL (Legacy)
Posted: 22-Sep-2017 01:35

Click to reply to this thread Reply
Attachment gromit-tn-url.JPG (37,5 KB)
I'm new to Gromit and have run up against what I hope is a simply solved problem. I need to link each thumbnail to its own URL. The Edit screen for Gromit lists "Thumbnail URL (Legacy)", but it's grayed out and will not accept any input. Hopefully, I'm just overlooking something. I really need to be able to establish individual thumbnail links.

I've attached a JPG of the screen.

Thanks,
Bob
Dallas, TX USA
jGromit

Re: Thumbnail URL (Legacy)
Posted: 22-Sep-2017 01:55   in response to: rchorne in response to: rchorne

jAlbum 14 introduced webLocations, which essentially take the place of the prior skin-specific method of linking a thumbnail to a URL. So, older projects that used direct thumbnail URL links are still supported, but going forward, regular jAlbum webLocations should be used. Here's the manual page that explains how to do it:

https://jgromit.com/gromit/man/gromit_master-album.html
rchorne

Posted: 22-Sep-2017 02:22   in response to: rchorne in response to: rchorne

I appreciate your quick response, but I'm afraid I'm confused by your reply. I'm a novice at all of this, but it sounds like jAlbum 14 wants me to build a separate url for each of the thumbnails individually and then link from a master thumbnail url gallery to the individual urls. That seems a bit extreme and convoluted. If I'm understanding you correctly, the prior releases of jAlbum didn't require all of this. Should I be looking for an earlier release than 14? Some of the other jAlbum skins have a direct link for each thumbnail, but they each seem to lack some other requirement of mine. So I was really hoping Gromit would be a solution.

Thanks,
Bob
jGromit