This question is not answered. Helpful answers available: 2. Correct answers available: 1.

Permlink Replies: 4 - Pages: 1 - Last Post: 19-Oct-2014 13:53 Last Post By: anubias
sayedmpm

Nikon D5100
Posted: 05-Oct-2011 18:56

Click to reply to this thread Reply
I'm pretty new to photography, I picked up my D 5100 a couple months back. With only the kit 18-55mm lens. Now I am planning to upgrade this one..

I've heard great things about the Nikkor 35 mm f/1.8G DX including, fantastic performance in low-light, a great first prime lens, and generally being a great lens for newbies and pros alike.

Now, the new Nikkor 40 mm f/2.8G DX micro lens caught my attention, the versatility and range of different shots it can take that are on sample on the official nikon site has got me thinking that this lens could also meets my needs. Although Nikkor 50 mm f/1.8G FX lens is on my consideration.

I take my camera with me pretty much everywhere. Therefore, I'm looking for a lens that can do some general photography work. The price won't be an issue. I'm leaning towards the 35 mm and 50 mm because I do have some difficulty with low light conditions, however the 40 mm looks great for food shots or landscape shots. My primary need is to get the sharpest portraiture. I’ve heard that the prime lenses having macro abilities do this job well. I don’t know whether thing is true or not.

However my question:- which one would you recommend as a first lens for sharpest portraiture photo with decent bokeh?

35 mm f/1.8G or 40 mm f/2.8 micro or 50 mm f/1.8G ????
sayedmpm

Re: Nikon D5100
Posted: 05-Oct-2011 18:57   in response to: sayedmpm in response to: sayedmpm

Yes
davidekholm

Posted: 05-Oct-2011 19:44   in response to: sayedmpm in response to: sayedmpm

I have Nikon's 50mm 1.4, and I love it. It's wonderful for portrait shots, and being 50mm it represents objects in natural size too.
anubias

Posted: 19-Oct-2014 13:48   in response to: sayedmpm in response to: sayedmpm