Permlink Replies: 4 - Pages: 1 - Last Post: 23-May-2014 12:49 Last Post By: karlmistelberger
gbonne

Tuning jAlbum for best performance and memory usage
Posted: 12-May-2014 23:15
  Click to reply to this thread Reply
Hi there. First a little intro about what I do for living besides being passionate for photography and using a registered version of jAlbum.

I work as an IT systems engineer for a multinational insurance company. I support application platforms of all kinds on many different operating systems. Lately I have been tuning Java memory allocatyion and usage as well as optimizing garbage collection on an enterprise level product.

Basically, I know pretty well some stuff I will be talking about right now.

Why I write this little post

As most of you I once encountered the dreaded out of memory errors using jalbum in the past. That was the first time I started to look for initial tuning. The obvious Xms & Xmx parameters saved the day at the time.

Nevertheless I became less happy with the performance and started to look for some more in depth Java tuning.

This is to share my findings and help the community progress with what I found so far being the best tool to create appealing photo album web pages.

Let's get to it now

First of all I am going to tell you to do what the developpers do not recommend. It is using a different JRE than the one that comes with jAlbum. For two reasons.
1) Regularly security updates to the Java runtime Environment are issued (that is JRE). And it is good habbit to follow security updates. One cannot smoothly and safely update the included JRE (it is possible but not so simple).
2) By now (I mean current day) practically everybody has a 64 bit Windows and at least 4GB RAM. Pictures can take a lot of space when being handled in memory... Let's use all of that and go beyond the 32-bit JRE. This means that if you have a 32 bit windows then this article does not apply to you.